Mental health: The castle of glass

So as we all know Chester Bennington, the lead singer of Linkin Park, past away from suicide.

Petrusich-Chester-Bennington

Now I don’t really think anyone will ever understand what Linkin Park meant to me. Linkin Park gave me strength when no one else can. When I felt left out, when I felt like no one would understand me, Linkin Park was there, Linkin Park did.

Songs like this:

Literally gave me strength when I was feeling knocked down, when I felt like I was feeling mocked in school, when I felt insignificant.

Or their song called Iridescent:

I remember listening to this in the car on repeat. The more I listened to it the more I let go of my problems. This song was my meditation.

The list goes on and on. Most of their songs have a special meaning to me. Most of their songs mark a part of my life. Most of their songs got me one step closer to where I am now, stronger and more confident than ever.

And now a piece of that is gone. Now we’re in pieces.

 


 

But the reason I wanted to make this entry is not about just what Chester meant tome. It’s broader than that. Another person has gone from mental illness. Another person has fallen into the trap that their mind has made them. Ironic, isn’t it? Our own minds devising these traps, working against us in the cruelest of ways.

I read a description about depression that I really liked. I wish I remembered who it was from, but here it goes: “When you’re depressed, you see things in the world around you. Everything moves normally, blissfully, nonchalantly. The sun goes up, days go by, everything seems normal, except there’s a twist. You’re trapped in a glass box. It’s bolted to the ground and no matter how hard you try you just can’t get out.”

Yet no one seems to notice, nothing seems to have changed. The world continues on blissfully without you.

That’s the only way I can imagine what Chester was feeling like. And not only Chester, but millions of people among us. I believe most people have gone through a similar phase at least once in their life. And then they got threw it. And they grew stronger from it. And they learned from it. But who’s to guarantee that it won’t happen again? And how many times can one take until they say enough?

This is why I decided to make this blog entry. Mental health awareness. There are few things worse in this world than feel like you’re trapped in a glass box. And most of the time we ourselves make it worse, why? Because we’re too afraid to communicate about it. Too embarrassed. I believe mental illness is still a huge taboo in our society. People are too ashamed to seek out for help. People are too ashamed to admit they’re imperfect.

But of course, we live in a society where being perfect is all that’s broadcasted. Rich people, beautiful people, successful people, perfect movie stars, perfect rock stars… Oh right. But wait, I mean, why shouldn’t they be happy? They’ve got it all, money, looks, fame, right? They should be ashamed that they’re unhappy, right?

Wrong. You know why? Because our standards are wrong. I believe it’s about time we start re-evaluating our ideas of the perfect person. Beauty, money… It’s all loads of bs. And people like Chester Bennington, Chris Cornell, Kurt Cobain… They’re the proof we need. In fact, I believe people that are happy just because of good looks and money are the ones with true mental illness, a mental illness called narcissism. Being happy and being obnoxious is not the same thing.

For me, real happiness comes from accepting your flaws. Real happiness means accepting that being perfect means being imperfect. Real happiness is knowing that both good and bad times are transitional. Real happiness means not looking away from hard times, not turning your head in the other direction, but standing there, accepting it, accepting that life is not black and white, it’s grey, and you can’t have a rainbow without rain (hashtag promotion of my blog: The rain). 

So please, please, if you’re feeling down, please let that energy out, write a damn blog, talk about it, and if people don’t understand, find new people. If people belittle your problems, saying things like other people have it worse, just remember that mental health is just like physical health. Just because others may have worse problems doesn’t mean that you’re problems aren’t worth looking into. Turn your disadvantage into an advantage, find an outlet for that energy, run, write songs. Trust me, you will turn out 1000 times better than those obnoxious brats you once admired.

Chester and the rest of Linkin Park helped us through hard times, now it’s our turn to continue his legacy and help each other.

 

 

Leave a Reply

